Public Records Requests

Making a request for Public Records



The Massachusetts Public Records Law (Law), found under Chapter 66, Section 10 of the Massachusetts General Laws, applies to records made or received by a Massachusetts governmental entity. Unless the requested records fall under an exemption to the Law, the responsive documents must be made available to the requester. A list of exemptions may be found under Chapter 4, Section 7(26) of the Massachusetts General Laws.

On June 3, 2016, Governor Baker signed An Act to Improve Public Records into law. Provisions in the new law will take effect on January 1, 2017.

Under the new provisions, agencies and municipalities are required to designate 1 or more Records Access Officer (RAO). The RAO has a duty to:

  • Coordinate the agency's or municipality's response to requests for access to public records;
  • Assist individuals seeking public records in identifying the records requested;
  • Assist the custodian of records in preserving public records; and
  • Prepare guidelines that enable requestors to make informed requests.
    Electronic Records
The following RAO's are available to be contacted directly to assist the public with requests within their departments:

Collector/Treasurer


Selectboard,
Laura Krutzler
lkrutzler@southhadleyma.gov


Payroll, Jackie Iskander
 
jiskander@southhadleyma.gov


Board of Health, Sharon Hart
shart@southhadleyma.gov


Planning, Richard Harris

rharris@southhadleyma.gov


Assessors, Melissa Couture
 
mcouture@southhadleyma.gov


Recreation Department and Municipal Golf, Andy Rogers
arogers@southhadleyma.gov


Council on Aging, Leslie Hennessey
lhennessey@southhadleyma.gov


Police, Steve Parentela
ParentelaS@southhadleypolice.org


Library,
Joseph Rodio
jrodio@cwmars.org


DPW, Jim Reidy
jreidy@southhadleyma.gov


Building Department


School, Sue C
lark
sclark@shschools.com


Human Resources, Jennifer Wolowicz
jwolowicz@southhadleyma.gov

School, Nick Young 
nyoung@shschools.com


Building, Gail Chadwick
gchadwick@southhadleyma.gov

 



Primary RAOs

Michael Sullivan, Town Administrator
msullivan@southhadleyma.gov

Carlene Hamlin, Town Clerk

chamlin@southhadleyma.gov


Electronic Records
As of January 1, 2017, the Records Access Officer (RAO) must provide public records to a requestor in an electronic format unless the record is not available in an electronic format or the requestor does not have the ability to receive or access the records in a useable electronic format.

Additionally, as of January 1, 2017, agency RAOs will be required to provide on a searchable website electronic copies of commonly requested records, including: final opinions, annual reports, minutes of open meetings and agency budgets. Municipal RAOs will also be required to post commonly requested records on their municipal websites, to the extent feasible.

Response Time
Beginning January 1, 2017, a RAO must permit inspection or furnish a copy of a requested public record within 10 business days following receipt of the request. RAOs may petition the Supervisor of Records for an extension if they are unable to grant access to the requested public records in this time period.

While requests for records may be made verbally, in person, it is preferable to make the request in writing to reduce confusion. A copy of the written request is required to file an appeal with the Supervisor of Records.

Fees
The Supervisor of Records' Public Access Regulations allowing records custodians to charge 5 cents for black and white paper copies or computer printouts of public records for both single and double-sided sheets was codified and will remain effective with the new law.

Beginning January 1, 2017, if a response to a public records request requires more than 2 hours of employee time, a municipal RAO may assess a fee of the hourly rate of the lowest paid employee with the skills necessary to search for, compile, segregate, redact or reproduce a requested record. However, the fee shall not exceed $25 an hour, unless approved by the Supervisor of Records. Municipalities with populations of 20,000 people or fewer will be permitted to charge for the first 2 hours of employee time.

Administrative Appeals
As of January 1, 2017, if an agency or municipality fails to comply with a requirement of the new law, the requestor may file an appeal with the Supervisor of Records who will then issue a determination on the public status of the records within 10 business days of receipt of the request for an appeal.

Attorney Fees
Under the new Public Records Law, if a requestor prevails in a court action against an agency or municipal RAO, the court may award the requestor attorney fees or costs. 

Making a Public Records Request

Mail In:
Anyone may request records directly to the RAO. The Law does not require any specific format for making a request, but using the form below will ensure that all information needed is submitted. You may print and mail the completed form to:

South Hadley Town Clerk
Suite 108
116 Main St.
South Hadley, MA 01075

Public Records Request Mail-In Form

Online:
You may submit an online public records request by clicking on the icon below:

public records request
If you do not receive a satisfactory response you may appeal to the Supervisor of Records. See Appealing a Denial of Access to Public Records in Massachusetts click on the link below for more information:


For additional information about making a request or filing an appeal, see 950 CMR 32.08 (2) by clicking on the link below: